Alternate name: Screeb
County: Galway
Fuel type: Sod peat
Capacity: 5MW
Status: Inactive
Commissioned: 1957
Decommissioned: 1989


After the end of World War II, the Irish Government committed to an extensive programme of bog development to be overseen by Bord na Móna. Four identical 5MW turf burning stations were built at Gweedore, Screebe, Miltown Malbay and Cahirciveen in 1957, at a cost of £500,000 each.

ESB also built seven other peat stations in the 1950s and 1960s, including Allenwood, Bellacorick, Ferbane, Lanesborough, Portarlington, Shannonbridge and Rhode.


Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.