County: Kerry
Fuel type: Sod peat
Capacity: 5MW
Status: Inactive
Commissioned: 1957
Decommissioned: 2003


On 22nd October, 1957, the Cahirciveen power station was brought into operation in Co. Kerry. After the end of World War II, the Irish Government committed to an extensive programme of bog development to be overseen by Bord na Móna. Four identical 5MW turf burning stations were built at Gweedore, Screebe, Miltown Malbay and Cahirciveen, at a cost of £500,000 each.

ESB also built seven other peat stations in the 1950s and 1960s, including Allenwood, Bellacorick, Ferbane, Lanesborough, Portarlington, Shannonbridge and Rhode.

Cahirciveen PR Pamphlet, 1980s

Cahirciveen PR Pamphlet, 1980s

Cahirciveen station employed 20 staff from the surrounding area, and was designed to burn 30,000 tonnes of locally produced turf annually. In 1990, a record 24,147 tonnes of turf was consumed producing a record 18,184,000 kilowatt-hours. Cahirciveen power station closed in 2003.

To view more information relating to the station in PDF format, click the image on the left.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s